Skip to content

Yankees and Twins, ALDS Game 1- I’ve been waiting for this since May

October 6, 2010

Just two days are left until the Sabres start their 2010-2011 campaign in Ottawa.  I’ve been excitedly reading any and all news that I’ve been able to find, as well as other blog posts offering previews for the upcoming season and analysis of the preseason games and practices.  I can hardly wait for game time on Friday! 

While I am waiting, I have post season baseball to take in.  I’ll be watching the Yankees take on the Twins at Target field tonight and rooting for the Twins.  No, you read that right.  I said I’ll be rooting for the Twins.  I have finally come to terms with the fact that my heart is no longer devoted solely to the Yankees.  If my grandpa were still around, I’m sure I’d be breaking his heart with this news.  But I can’t change how I feel about the Twins, and I really want to see them do well this post season.

I started watching the Twins this season after the All-Star break.  MLB Extra Innings offered a few days of free service, and I was taken in by the Twins.  To be honest, I watched them only because of Joe Mauer.  But then, I started to grow attach to the rest of them, too.  It helped that a few of them had been called up from Rochester, and I can’t help but be a fan of Red Wings who get called up.  (Except it means the Red Wings suck if too many of them get called up to Minnesota, but I was able to live with it because they were helping the Twins win.)  By the end of the Extra Innings free trial period, I was hooked.  I ordered Extra Innings and followed the Twins down the stretch.  I have even started to forgive Carl Pavano for being a complete waste as a Yankee, watching him do well with the Twins.  (I did only say I’ve started to forgive him, though- I’m still a little bitter over him getting so much money from the Yankees all those years and never actually making a meaningful contribution.  As a Twin, though, he’s not too bad.) 

Don’t get me wrong- the Yankees are my first baseball love, and I can’t let go of the pinstripe pride that my Grandpa passed on to me.  I’ve actually been going through a bit of an identity crisis over my sudden strong appreciation for the Twins.  But, I’ve decided that there’s room in this baseball fan’s heart for more than one team, and the Twins have moved in to take their place.  I’m rooting for the Twins to win the ALDS for several reasons, but the main ones are  a) they should get to break in their new park with a World Series, just like the Yanks did last year and b) I think they’re just due to finally beat the Yankees in the ALDS.  That, and after seeing their commercial the other day announcing that the entire team is their MVP because they did it together, I just can’t help but want them to win it all this year.

One hour to go until first pitch.  Go Twins! (Sorry, Grandpa.)

The top of the first inning made me realize I’m not completely rooting for the Twins, as their success would mean the Yankees lose.  Span just led off the bottom of the first with a single…  I cheered for him, but was bummed that Jeter, Swish and Tex all made outs in the first inning.  ooh, Mauer’s up… gotta stop typing… darn, he struck out.  Where was I? Right, I am very conflicted over this game.  Although I’ll be happy whichever team wins, I’ll still be bummed that the other team loses.  I’m pretty sure that I want the Twins to win more than I want the Yankees to win, though.  [Note to TBS: that extreme close up of Gardy you showed in the bottom of the first looked sort of scary on my HDTV…  I don’t think anyone should be shot that closely in HD.  I mean, that was an absurdly close shot.]

Now that the second inning is well under way, I’ve decided that I want this series to go to 5 games.  And they all should be really close games.  Also, trying to write at the same time I’m watching is too distracting (i.e. how did Posada just get on?), so I’m going to put my computer away and focus on the game.  I’m still going to say “Go Twins!”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

